Réhabilitation motrice des extrémités supérieures et inférieures des patients victimes d'un AVC

Résultats scientifiques de recoveriX

Thérapie des extrémités supérieures

L’efficacité de recoveriX a été démontrée dans une étude de groupe portant sur 52 patients. Les 51 patients qui ont terminé le traitement ont montré des améliorations très significatives de la fonction motrice des membres supérieurs et de la spasticité. En outre, les améliorations facilitées par recoveriX se sont avérées durables par nature. Le temps écoulé depuis l’AVC, l’âge et la déficience de base n’ont pas affecté les améliorations de la fonction motrice ressenties par les patients. Les améliorations fonctionnelles constatées peuvent être expliquées par des changements neuroplastiques dans le système nerveux central.

Le principal critère d’évaluation de l’étude recoveriX PRO était l’évaluation Fugl-Meyer des membres supérieurs (FMA-UE). La FMA-UE est recommandée pour évaluer la fonction motrice du membre supérieur après un accident vasculaire cérébral [1,2] et présente une excellente fiabilité inter-juges [3,4].

recoverix stroke rehabiliation

Le tableau ci-dessous présente les caractéristiques des 51 patients qui ont terminé le traitement, dont 23 étaient des femmes.

Médiane Gamme
Âge (années) 62.0 13-86 années
Temps depuis l’AVC (mois) 36.5 3 mois- 31 années
FMA-UE dans PRE (points) 19.0 3-59 points

 

La déficience initiale des patients était en moyenne de 19,0 points, 35, 9 et 7 patients présentant respectivement une déficience sévère, modérée et légère [5].
Les patients se sont améliorés en moyenne de 4,8 points à la FMA-UE. L’exécution d’un test statistique (test t apparié bilatéral) a donné lieu à une différence hautement significative des scores moyens de FMA-UE avant et après le traitement recoveriX.

Si l’on divise les patients selon leur degré de déficience, conformément à Woytowicz et al. (2017) [5] , nous avons observé que les patients gravement déficients se sont améliorés de 3,7 points, les patients modérément déficients de 8,0 points et les patients légèrement déficients de 5,3 points. Ci-dessous, une figure est présentée pour les différents groupes de patients.

FMA-UE Improvements in the scientific study recoverix

Amélioration de la FMA-UE pour les différents groupes de patients indiquée en moyenne et en intervalle de confiance à 95%. TOUS : les 51 patients ayant participé à l’étude. SEVERE : patients sévèrement atteints (n=35). MODÉRÉ : patients modérément atteints (n=9). Mild…patients légèrement déficients (n=7)

Page et al. (2012) [6] ont défini la différence cliniquement importante pour les patients atteints d’une déficience modérée à minime dans le cadre d’un AVC chronique comme étant de 4,25 à 7,25 points dans la FMA-UE. La différence cliniquement importante fait référence à l’amélioration qui est considérée comme significative pour le patient. Pour les patients atteints de déficience modérée, recoveriX a atteint 8,0 points, ce qui est supérieur à la différence cliniquement importante. Pour les patients présentant une déficience minimale, recoveriX a atteint 5,3 points, ce qui se situe dans la fourchette de la différence cliniquement importante.
En comparaison, les études utilisant uniquement le FES (c’est-à-dire sans BCI) ont atteint une amélioration moyenne de 3,9 points dans la FMA-UE.

Les patients qui sont capables de très bien maîtriser le système recoveriX (précision de classification médiane >80%) se sont améliorés de 6,5 points, tandis que les personnes qui avaient une précision de classification médiane <80% se sont améliorées de 2,3 points. Cela montre que l’engagement actif et la motivation sont importants, lors de la formation avec le système recoveriX. Fait important, la capacité à contrôler le système recoveriX est indépendante de la déficience initiale !

En outre, les échelles cliniques suivantes montrent des améliorations significatives [7,8]:

  • Indice de Barthel
  • Échelle d’Ashworth modifiée pour le poignet et les doigts
  • Test de la boîte et du bloc de la main affectée et de la main saine
  • Test de la cheville à 9 trous de la main saine
  • Échelle d’évaluation des tremblements de Fahn de la main affectée et de la main saine
  • Évaluation cognitive de Montréal
  • Test des mots colorés de Stroop

Notez que dans l’étude, nous n’avons pas observé d’amélioration significative du test de la cheville à 9 trous pour la main affectée. Cela s’explique par le fait que seuls 9 patients sur 51 ont pu effectuer ce test, car il requiert une importante motricité fine.

lower extremity therapy

Thérapie des extrémités inférieures

L’efficacité de notre thérapie des extrémités inférieures recoveriX a été étudiée chez 25 patients victimes d’un accident vasculaire cérébral. Comme trois patients ont retiré leur participation, il restait 22 patients, dont 9 femmes. 21 patients étaient dans leur phase chronique et un dans leur phase subaiguë. Le principal critère de jugement était la vitesse de marche, évaluée à l’aide du test de marche de 10 mètres (10MWT). Tous les patients ont effectué 25 séances d’une heure de thérapie recoveriX réparties sur 3 fois par semaine.

Le 10MWT des patients s’est amélioré de manière significative de 1,0 seconde. En d’autres termes, les patients ont été capables d’effectuer le 10MWT plus rapidement après la thérapie recoveriX. En termes de vitesse de marche, les patients ont également montré une amélioration significative de 0,16 m/s, l’amélioration moyenne de la vitesse de marche étant de 0,19 m/s.

Ces résultats montrent que la vitesse de marche des patients, évaluée par le 10MWT, s’est améliorée de manière significative. En fait, cette amélioration dépasse le changement significatif substantiel défini par Perera et al. (2006) [9]. Les patients montrent une amélioration significative de la vitesse de marche après 21 séances (analysées à l’aide d’une analyse à mesures répétées). Par conséquent, le protocole basé sur 25 séances réparties sur 3 fois par semaine, s’est avéré être un bon dosage.

En outre, les échelles cliniques suivantes montrent des améliorations significatives:

  • Indice de Barthel
  • Échelle d’Ashworth modifiée pour la cheville
  • Amplitude des mouvements de la cheville
  • Test musculaire manuel pour le genou et la cheville
  • Test du lever et du coucher chronométré
  • Évaluation cognitive de Montréal

Comparaison de recoveriX avec d’autres traitements

Nous avons choisi de comparer notre thérapie des membres inférieurs recoveriX avec l’un des traitements les plus efficaces de la littérature pour la rééducation de la marche chez les patients victimes d’un AVC : l’entraînement électromécanique à la marche avec dispositifs effecteurs (EGAIT-EE). L’EGAIT-EE a été identifié comme étant le plus efficace en effectuant une méta-analyse. La méta-analyse comprenait à l’origine 95 essais contrôlés randomisés avec un total de 4458 patients. La principale mesure utilisée pour évaluer la capacité de marche était la vitesse de marche. Le groupe EGAIT-EE a amélioré de manière significative la vitesse de marche par rapport au groupe témoin de 0,15 m/s en moyenne (P < 0,001).

Les patients en phase chronique ont montré un changement de la vitesse de marche de 0,11 m/s dans le groupe EGAIT-EE [10]. En comparaison, pour recoveriX, nous avons observé une amélioration de 0,19 m/s. Il est important de noter que recoveriX ne nécessite pas l’utilisation d’un système de soutien du poids du corps car les patients sont assis pendant la thérapie recoveriX. Par conséquent, le risque de chute est complètement éliminé, tandis que les patients peuvent toujours entraîner leurs schémas de marche et augmenter leurs fonctions motrices, leur vitesse de marche, leur coordination et leur équilibre.

FMA-UE Improvements in the scientific study recoverix

Amélioration du 10MWT reflétant l’augmentation de la vitesse du GAIT en m/s pour le traitement EGAIT-EE et recoveriX.

 

recoveriX est comparé à de nombreux groupes de contrôle

De nombreuses personnes nous demandent pourquoi nous n’avons pas de groupes de contrôle dans ces études. La réponse est simple : un produit médical doit être comparé à de nombreuses autres technologies et résultats scientifiques sur le marché et cela doit être mis à jour chaque année. Pour les produits médicaux, une évaluation clinique doit être réalisée afin d’obtenir l’approbation médicale d’un organisme notifié. Cette évaluation clinique est examinée par le centre d’évaluation clinique de l’organisme notifié, qui est l’unité responsable de la mise sur le marché de produits médicaux sûrs et efficaces.

Le système recoveriX a été comparé à de nombreuses études indépendantes utilisant différentes techniques. Il est important de noter ici que de cette manière, le système recoveriX a été comparé à de nombreux groupes de contrôle et résultats d’études scientifiques différents et qu’un produit médical n’obtient la certification que s’il est efficace et sûr. Finalement, cette évaluation clinique a montré que recoveriX est efficace et sûr.

Échelles et tests cliniques

L’évaluation Fugl-Meyer du membre supérieur (FMA-UE) est une évaluation permettant d’évaluer et de quantifier la fonction motrice du membre supérieur chez les patients victimes d’un AVC. L’échelle va de 0 à 66 points, 66 points étant la meilleure fonction motrice qu’un patient puisse avoir.

  • L’indice de Barthel est un questionnaire subjectif dans lequel les patients évaluent leurs performances dans les activités de la vie quotidienne.
  • L’échelle d’Ashworth modifiée évalue la spasticité de différentes articulations du côté affecté.
  • Le test des boîtes et des blocs évalue la dextérité des mains.
  • Le test de la cheville à 9 trous évalue la dextérité des doigts.
  • L’échelle d’évaluation des tremblements de Fahn évalue le degré de tremblement du membre supérieur.
  • L’évaluation cognitive de Montréal évalue les fonctions et les troubles cognitifs.
  • Le test des mots colorés de Stroop évalue la capacité à traiter deux stimuli qui interfèrent sur le plan cognitif (voir Effet Stroop).
  • Le test de marche de 10 mètres évalue la vitesse de la marche.
  • Le test musculaire manuel évalue la force et la fonction musculaires.
  • Le test Timed Up and Go évalue la mobilité et requiert équilibre et coordination.

 

Références

[1] Gladstone, D. J., Danells, C. J., & Black, S. E. (2002). The fugl-meyer assessment of motor recovery after stroke: a critical review of its measurement properties. Neurorehabilitation and Neural Repair, 16(3), 232–240. doi:10.1177/15459680240110517

[2] Bushnell, C., Bettger, J. P., Cockroft, K. M., Cramer, S. C., Edelen, M. O., Hanley, D., … Yenokyan, G. (2015). Chronic stroke outcome measures for motor function intervention trials: Expert panel recommendations. Circulation. Cardiovascular Quality and Outcomes, 8(6 Suppl 3), S163-9. doi:10.1161/CIRCOUTCOMES.115.002098

[3] Duncan, P. W., Propst, M., & Nelson, S. G. (1983). Reliability of the Fugl-Meyer assessment of sensorimotor recovery following cerebrovascular accident. Physical Therapy, 63(10), 1606–1610. doi:10.1093/ptj/63.10.1606

[4] Sanford, J., Moreland, J., Swanson, L. R., Stratford, P. W., & Gowland, C. (1993). Reliability of the Fugl-Meyer assessment for testing motor performance in patients following stroke. Physical Therapy, 73(7), 447–454. doi:10.1093/ptj/73.7.447

[5] Woytowicz, E. J., Rietschel, J. C., Goodman, R. N., Conroy, S. S., Sorkin, J. D., Whitall, J., & McCombe Waller, S. (2017). Determining levels of upper extremity movement impairment by applying a cluster analysis to the Fugl-Meyer assessment of the upper extremity in chronic stroke. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 98(3), 456–462. doi:10.1016/j.apmr.2016.06.023

[6] Page, S. J., Fulk, G. D., & Boyne, P. (2012). Clinically important differences for the upper-extremity Fugl-Meyer Scale in people with minimal to moderate impairment due to chronic stroke. Physical Therapy, 92(6), 791–798. doi:10.2522/ptj.20110009

[7] Sebastián-Romagosa, M., Udina, E., Ortner, R., Dinarès-Ferran, J., Cho, W., Murovec, N., … Guger, C. (2020). EEG biomarkers related with the functional state of stroke patients. Frontiers in Neuroscience, 14, 582. doi:10.3389/fnins.2020.00582

[8] Sebastián-Romagosa, M., Cho, W., Ortner, R., Murovec, N., Von Oertzen, T., Kamada, K., … Guger, C. (2020). Brain computer interface treatment for motor rehabilitation of upper extremity of stroke patients-A feasibility study. Frontiers in Neuroscience, 14, 591435. doi:10.3389/fnins.2020.591435

[9] Perera, S., Mody, S. H., Woodman, R. C., & Studenski, S. A. (2006). Meaningful change and responsiveness in common physical performance measures in older adults. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society, 54(5), 743–749. doi:10.1111/j.1532-5415.2006.00701.x

[10] Peurala, S. H., Tarkka, I. M., Pitkänen, K., & Sivenius, J. (2005). The effectiveness of body weight-supported gait training and floor walking in patients with chronic stroke. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 86(8), 1557–1564. doi:10.1016/j.apmr.2005.02.005

Motor Rehabilitation of Upper & Lower Extremity of Stroke Patients

recoveriX Scientific Results

Upper Extremity Therapy

The efficacy of recoveriX was shown in a group study of 52 patients. The 51 patients who finished the treatment showed highly significant improvements in upper extremity motor function and spasticity. Furthermore, the improvements facilitated by recoveriX were found to be long lasting in nature. Time since stroke, age and baseline impairment did not affect the motor function improvements experienced by patients. The functional improvements experienced can be explained by neuroplastic changes in the central nervous system.

The primary outcome measure of the recoveriX PRO study was the upper extremity Fugl-Meyer Assessment (FMA-UE). The FMA-UE is recommended for evaluating upper extremity motor function after stroke [1,2] and has excellent inter-rater reliability [3,4].

recoverix stroke rehabiliation

The table below shows the patient characteristics of the 51 patients who finished the treatment, with 23 of them being female.

Median Range
Age (years) 62.0 13-86 years
Time Since Stroke (months) 36.5 3 months – 31 years
FMA-UE in PRE (points) 19.0 3-59 points

 

The baseline impairment of patients was on median 19.0 points with 35, 9 and 7 patients being severely, moderately and mildly impaired, respectively [5].
Patients improved on average by 4.8 points in FMA-UE. Performing a statistical test (two-tailed paired t-test) resulted in a highly significant difference in mean FMA-UE scores before and after recoveriX treatment.

If one splits patients by their degree of impairment according to Woytowicz et al. (2017) [5] we observed that severely impaired patients improved by 3.7 points, moderately impaired patients improved by 8.0 points and mildly impaired patients improved by 5.3 points. Below a figure is shown for the different patient groups.

FMA-UE Improvements in the scientific study recoverix

FMA-UE improvement for the different patient groups shown in mean and 95% Confidence Interval. ALL: all 51 patients who participated in the study. SEVERE: severely impaired patients (n=35). MODERATE: moderately impaired patients (n=9). Mild…mildly impaired patients (n=7)

 

Page et al. (2012) [6] defined the clinically important difference for moderately to minimally impaired patients in chronic stroke to be 4.25 to 7.25 points in FMA-UE. Clinically important difference refers to the improvement that is considered meaningful for the patient. For moderately impaired patients recoveriX achieved 8.0 points, which is greater than the clinically important difference. For minimally impaired patients recoveriX achieved 5.3 points, which is in the range of the clinically important difference.
In comparison, studies using just FES (i.e., without a BCI) reached a mean improvement of 3.9 points in FMA-UE.

Patients who are able to control the recoveriX system very well (median classification accuracy >80%) improved by 6.5 points, whereas people who had a median classification accuracy <80% improved by 2.3 points. This shows that active engagement and motivation are of importance, when training with the recoveriX system. Importantly, the ability to control the recoveriX system is independent from baseline impairment!

Additionally, the following clinical scales show significant improvements [7,8]:

  • Barthel Index
  • Modified Ashworth Scale for Wrist and Fingers
  • Box and Block Test of the affected and healthy hand
  • 9-Hole Peg test for the healthy hand
  • Fahn Tremor Rating Scale of the affected and healthy hand
  • Montreal Cognitive Assessment
  • Stroop Color-Word Test

Note that in the study we did not observe a significant improvement in 9-Hole Peg test for the affected hand. This is because only 9 out of 51 patients could even perform this test, because it requires substantial fine motor skills

lower extremity therapy

Lower Extremity Therapy

The efficacy of our recoveriX lower extremity therapy was investigated in 25 stroke patients. As three patients withdrew their participation 22 patients remained with 9 of them being female. 21 patients were in their chronic phase and one was in their subacute phase. The primary outcome measure was gait speed, assessed using the 10-Meter Walk Test (10MWT). All patients performed 25 sessions of one hour of recoveriX therapy distributed across 3 times per week.

Patients’ 10MWT improved significantly by 1.0 second. In other words, patients were able to complete the 10MWT quicker after the recoveriX therapy. In terms of gait speed patients also showed a significant improvement by 0.16 m/s with the mean improvement in gait speed being 0.19 m/s.

These results show that patients’ gait speed, assessed by the 10MWT, improved significantly. In fact, this improvement exceeds the substantial meaningful change defined by Perera et al. (2006) [9]. Patients show a significant improvement in gait speed after 21 sessions (analyzed using a repeated measure analysis). Therefore, the protocol based on 25 sessions distributed across 3 times per week, was found to be a good dosage.

Additionally, the following clinical scales show significant improvements:

  • Barthel Index
  • Modified Ashworth Scale for Ankle
  • Range of Motion in Ankle
  • Manual Muscle Test for Knee and Ankle
  • Timed Up and Go test
  • Montreal Cognitive Assessment

Comparison of recoveriX with other treatments

We chose to compare our recoveriX lower extremity therapy with one of the most effective treatments in the literature for gait rehabilitation in stroke patients: Electromechanical Gait Training with End Effector devices (EGAIT-EE). EGAIT-EE was identified to be the most effective by performing a meta-analysis. The meta-analysis originally included 95 randomized controlled trials with a total of 4458 patients. The primary measure used to evaluate the walking ability was the gait speed. The EGAIT-EE group improved significantly in gait speed compared with the control group by 0.15 m/s on average (P < 0.001).

Patients in their chronic phase showed a change in gait speed of 0.11 m/s in the EGAIT-EE group [10]. In comparison for recoveriX we observed an improvement of 0.19 m/s. Importantly, recoveriX does not need the use of a body weight support system as patients are seated during the recoveriX therapy. Therefore, the risk of falls is completely eliminated, while patients can still train their gait patterns and increase their motor functions, gait speed, coordination and balance.

FMA-UE Improvements in the scientific study recoverix

10MWT Improvement reflecting the increase in GAIT speed in m/s for EGAIT-EE and recoveriX treatment.

 

recoveriX is compared to many control groups

Many people ask us why we do not have control groups in these studies. The simple answer is that a medical product has to be compared with many other technologies and scientific results on the market and this must be updated every year. For medical products a clinical evaluation has to be performed in order to get the medical approval from a notified body. This clinical evaluation is reviewed by the clinical evaluation center of the notified body, which is the unit responsible for bringing medical products to the market that are safe and effective.

The recoveriX system was compared with many independent studies using different techniques. Important to note here is that in this way recoveriX was compared to many different control groups and scientific study results and that a medical product gets the certification only if it is effective and safe. Finally, this clinical evaluation showed that recoveriX is effective and safe.

Clinical Scales and Tests

The Upper Extremity Fugl-Meyer Assessment (FMA-UE) is an assessment for evaluating and quantifying motor function of the upper extremity in stroke patients. The scale ranges from 0 to 66 points, with 66 points being the best motor function a patient can have.

  • The Barthel Index is a subjective questionnaire in which patients rate their performance in Activities of Daily Living.
  • The Modified Ashworth Scale assesses spasticity of different joints of the affected side.
  • The Box and Blocks Test assess hand dexterity.
  • The 9-Hole Peg Test assesses finger dexterity.
  • The Fahn Tremor Rating Scale assesses the tremor degree of the upper extremity.
  • The Montreal Cognitive Assessment assesses cognitive function and impairment.
  • The Stroop Color-Word Test assesses the ability to process two cognitively interfering stimuli (see Stroop Effect).
  • The 10-Meter Walk Test assesses the gait speed.
  • The Manual Muscle Test assesses muscle strength and function.
  • The Timed Up and Go Test assess the mobility and requires balance and coordination.

 

References

[1] Gladstone, D. J., Danells, C. J., & Black, S. E. (2002). The fugl-meyer assessment of motor recovery after stroke: a critical review of its measurement properties. Neurorehabilitation and Neural Repair, 16(3), 232–240. doi:10.1177/15459680240110517

[2] Bushnell, C., Bettger, J. P., Cockroft, K. M., Cramer, S. C., Edelen, M. O., Hanley, D., … Yenokyan, G. (2015). Chronic stroke outcome measures for motor function intervention trials: Expert panel recommendations. Circulation. Cardiovascular Quality and Outcomes, 8(6 Suppl 3), S163-9. doi:10.1161/CIRCOUTCOMES.115.002098

[3] Duncan, P. W., Propst, M., & Nelson, S. G. (1983). Reliability of the Fugl-Meyer assessment of sensorimotor recovery following cerebrovascular accident. Physical Therapy, 63(10), 1606–1610. doi:10.1093/ptj/63.10.1606

[4] Sanford, J., Moreland, J., Swanson, L. R., Stratford, P. W., & Gowland, C. (1993). Reliability of the Fugl-Meyer assessment for testing motor performance in patients following stroke. Physical Therapy, 73(7), 447–454. doi:10.1093/ptj/73.7.447

[5] Woytowicz, E. J., Rietschel, J. C., Goodman, R. N., Conroy, S. S., Sorkin, J. D., Whitall, J., & McCombe Waller, S. (2017). Determining levels of upper extremity movement impairment by applying a cluster analysis to the Fugl-Meyer assessment of the upper extremity in chronic stroke. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 98(3), 456–462. doi:10.1016/j.apmr.2016.06.023

[6] Page, S. J., Fulk, G. D., & Boyne, P. (2012). Clinically important differences for the upper-extremity Fugl-Meyer Scale in people with minimal to moderate impairment due to chronic stroke. Physical Therapy, 92(6), 791–798. doi:10.2522/ptj.20110009

[7] Sebastián-Romagosa, M., Udina, E., Ortner, R., Dinarès-Ferran, J., Cho, W., Murovec, N., … Guger, C. (2020). EEG biomarkers related with the functional state of stroke patients. Frontiers in Neuroscience, 14, 582. doi:10.3389/fnins.2020.00582

[8] Sebastián-Romagosa, M., Cho, W., Ortner, R., Murovec, N., Von Oertzen, T., Kamada, K., … Guger, C. (2020). Brain computer interface treatment for motor rehabilitation of upper extremity of stroke patients-A feasibility study. Frontiers in Neuroscience, 14, 591435. doi:10.3389/fnins.2020.591435

[9] Perera, S., Mody, S. H., Woodman, R. C., & Studenski, S. A. (2006). Meaningful change and responsiveness in common physical performance measures in older adults. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society, 54(5), 743–749. doi:10.1111/j.1532-5415.2006.00701.x

[10] Peurala, S. H., Tarkka, I. M., Pitkänen, K., & Sivenius, J. (2005). The effectiveness of body weight-supported gait training and floor walking in patients with chronic stroke. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 86(8), 1557–1564. doi:10.1016/j.apmr.2005.02.005